On the 31st January 5,655 pupils in Bury exercised their democratic right to vote. Bury Council Youth Participation Worker, Adele Crowshaw contacted the school today to officially announce that our Head Girl, Elle-Sue Calderbank was voted in as 1st Deputy Leader for Bury Youth Parliament. Other successful students in the elections were Emma Greenwood from Woodhey High School who was elected as the new Member of Youth Parliament, and Josh Harcup from Prestwich Arts College who was voted as 2nd Deputy Leader for Bury.

Elle will represent the voice of students in Bury and campaign for issues close to the hearts of our young people. Mrs McCool, Head of Year at Tottington High School said, “We are so pleased and proud of our Head Girl who has worked very hard for this opportunity and we would like to congratulate her on a fantastic achievement.”